Legislative Salary Council Friday, March 17, 2017 9:00 AM

**Meeting Minutes** 

MEMBERS PRESENT Dr. Thomas Stinson, Chair Patrice Hannan, Vice Chair Joseph Boyle **Diana Burlison** William Donohue **Gregory Fox** James Joy (via telephone) Charles McElroy Gloria Myre Deborah Olson (via telephone) Sherrie Pugh Marsha VanDenburgh Randy Twistol **Kenneth Wilmes** Laura Witty

MEMBERS EXCUSED Dr. David Metzen

Dr. Tom Stinson, Chair, called the Legislative Salary Council meeting to order at 9:03 AM in Room G-6 of the Judicial Center. A quorum was present.

# Adopt Agenda

Marsha VanDenburgh moved approval of the agenda. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows: Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Charles McElroy, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

#### **Adopt Minutes**

Marsha VanDenburgh moved approval of the minutes. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows: Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Charles McElroy, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

### Review/approve transmittal letter

Joe Boyle moved to amend the letter as follows: On page 4, paragraph 4, line two after the word recommend insert "on a 12-1 vote, with three members absent". Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Charles McElroy, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Randy Twistol moved approval of the transmittal letter as amended. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Dr. David Metzen, Charles McElroy, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

### **Review/approve report**

Joseph Boyle presented an overview of a minority report he drafted that explains his position regarding the Council's recommendation to the legislature to eliminate per diem.

Angela Behrens, Office of the Attorney General, was asked whether it was within the Council's authority to make a recommendation to the legislature to eliminate per diem. Ms. Behrens noted that making recommendations to the legislature is within the authority of the Council. She stated that making a recommendation is essentially providing an unsolicited opinion and there is no law prohibiting the Council from providing an unsolicited opinion.

Joseph Boyle moved to include the minority report he drafted regarding the Council's recommendation related to per diem in the appendix of the final report. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Charles McElroy, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Gloria Myre moved to amend the report as follows: On page 6 at the end of paragraph two, insert the following language: "Upon advice of counsel from the Attorney General's Office, the Council understands it is within its legal authority to make this recommendation. One member filed a minority report, which is included in the appendix". Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows: Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Charles McElroy, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Gloria Myre moved that the chair be allowed to make technical changes to the report. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows: Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donahue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Charles McElroy, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

William Donahue moved that language be added to the report that notes the Council recognizes there is supplemental compensation for the leadership in the House and Senate and quote the statute that provides for that enhanced compensation. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows: Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donahue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Charles McElroy, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

William Donahue moved that the sections beginning on page 9 "Comparable Salaries" and "Rationale" be moved up to page 4 directly following the "Principles" section, that introductory text be added to that section, and to denote the last sentence of the report via a conclusion heading. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows: Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Charles McElroy, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Charles McElroy moved to amend the report as follows: On page 2, in the third paragraph under the Background section, after the words "prescribed salary" insert "of Minnesota's 67 senators and 134 representatives". Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows: Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Charles McElroy, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

William Donahue moved approval of the Report of the Legislative Salary Council as amended. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Charles McElroy, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

## Adjournment

James Joy moved the Council adjourn. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows: Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Charles McElroy, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting adjourned at 10:05 AM.