Compensation Council March 7, 2025 10:00 AM

MEETING MINUTES

Members Present:

Patrick McCormack, Chair David Asp, Vice Chair Charles Anderson Patrick Baustian Janice Brandt Tim Brinkman Kelli Comers Nancy Conley Devin Driscoll **Benjamin Gerber** Roger Josephson Amanda Mills Nicholas Morgan Gloria Myre Amber Naqvi James Robins Kristi Schmidt Davis Senseman Tim Stout

Members Excused:

Gary Borgendale Thomas Boyd Susan Holden Amanda Matchett Jason Resseman

David Asp, convener, called the meeting of the Compensation Council to order at 10:00 AM in the Ladyslipper Room of the Centennial Office Building. A quorum was present.

Introduction of members and staff

Members and staff introduced themselves.

Adopt agenda

Jim Robins moved approval of the agenda. Seconded. The Motion Prevailed.

Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Jim Robins nominated Patrick McCormack for the position of council chair. A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Anderson, Asp, Baustian, Brandt, Brinkman, Comers, Conely, Driscoll, Gerber, Josephson, McCormack, Mills, Morgan, Myre, Naqvi, Robins, Scmidt, Senseman, Stout.

There being 19 Ayes and 5 Absent. The Motion Prevailed.

Jim Robins nominated David Asp for the position of council vice chair. A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Anderson, Asp, Baustian, Brandt, Brinkman, Comers, Conely, Driscoll, Gerber, Josephson, McCormack, Mills, Morgan, Myre, Naqvi, Robins, Scmidt, Senseman, Stout.

There being 19 Ayes and 5 Absent. The Motion Prevailed.

Open Meeting Law and Data Practices Act

Nick Nigro, Research Analyst, Legislative Coordinating Commission, presented an overview of the Open Meeting Law and the Minnesota Data Practices Act.

Duties of the Compensation Council

Stephanie James, Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis, presented an overview of the statutory duties of the Compensation Council and spoke to the subdivision in the Compensation Council statute related to ex parte communications.

Consider proposed policies

Michelle Yurich, Executive Director, Legislative Coordinating Commission, presented the proposed Compensation Council Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public and the proposed Compensation Council Data Practices Policy for Data Subjects.

Devin Driscoll moved adoption of the Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public and the Compensation Council Data Practices Policy for Data Subjects. Seconded. A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Anderson, Asp, Baustian, Brandt, Brinkman, Comers, Conely, Driscoll, Gerber, Josephson, McCormack, Mills, Morgan, Myre, Naqvi, Robins, Scmidt, Senseman, Stout.

There being 19 Ayes and 5 Absent. The Motion Prevailed.

Agency head salaries

Nick Nigro, Research Analyst, Legislative Coordinating Commission, provided an overview of the Compensation Council duties as related to the agency head salaries.

Presentation of prior recommendations

Michelle Yurich, Executive Director, Legislative Coordinating Commission, presented an overview of the outcomes of the Compensation Council's 2023 recommendations.

Compensation data

Nick Nigro, Research Analyst, Legislative Coordinating Commission, provided an overview on compensation data which included data on the salaries of agency heads, constitutional officers, and the judiciary.

Mr. Nigro also provided an overview on comparative compensation data which included salary comparisons of Minnesota constitutional officers with their counterparts in other states, salary comparisons of agency heads with similar positions in local government, the National Center for States survey of judicial salaries, and various judicial salary comparisons.

Council Discussion

Council members discussed the meeting schedule, presentations, and information that they would like to be provided to the Council.

The next meeting was scheduled for Friday, March 14, 2025.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:20 AM.